(Above is just a crazy optical illusion – not really moving!)

So, turns out my dizziness IS an inner ear infection.  I have “vestibular neuritis“, some kind of a lesion on the vestibular nerve deep in my ear canal beyond where the doctors can see.  A virus probably caused it.  I thought it would be a simple “take these drops” kind of thing, but there’s actually not much that can be done. The Otorrinolaringologista (ear doctor) said it mostly has to heal on it’s own and can take 3 weeks to 3 months! 

I have some exercises to do, some pills and some vitamins.    I basically spend the day feeling like a bobble-head doll – my equilibrium is just off.  The weirdest part is that I have the worst dizzy spells at night while I am sleeping.  Normally it would take a bomb to wake me, but now I wake up several times turning the night with bed spins.  Last night I actually woke up and found myself moving my head in circles, unable to stop it – Bizarre!

The doctor said not to drive this week, so hubby has been amazing.  Hopefully I’ll be able to pull it off next week – actually I HAVE to pull it off next week as he has a big kickoff week at work with visiting execs.  I have been sleeping most of the last couple days – the doctor said that the brain and body get really tired trying to compensate for the lack of control.

I had a bunch of hearing tests on Tuesday, that showed I have really good hearing.  They were all quite awkward involving crazy headphones, crazy goggles, and crazy manuvers to induce the vertigo.  The funniest is when they put me in a sound-proof booth like in Quiz Show.  First, they told me to raise my hand when I heard the beeps; I passed that with flying colors.  Next, they said “Palabras” (“Words”).  I had to repeat back a bunch of spanish words, many of which I haven’t learned yet, so I was not sure what I was saying. I got a good laugh from the doctor when he said “Bien” and I said “Correcion, bien por una gringa!” (Correction – good for a gringa).

All this typing has tuckered me out, I’m going to go rest again.

PS – Did I mention the ear doctor’s office is decorated in Van Gogh paintings? He has a good sense of humor.

