You know how sometimes you can have a busy morning where everyone wakes up late and you just have to get the kids somewhere and you say to yourself – I’m not going to see anybody – I’ll shower and brush my teeth in 15 minutes when I get home? You can’t do that here.

At home, when you do it occasionally, it’s okay because if you do happen to run into a friend, they’ll understand and if you see an aquaintance, well, they are an aquaintance, so you wave from a distance and they’ll never know. Not here.

When you first meet another woman here – they give you a peck on the cheek, and then always after.  Birthday parties – hello & goodbye.  Running into someone at school, at the grocery store, at the pharmacy – a quick friendly peck for hello & goodbye.

I was never a much of a mint person before, I am now – you never know.

